Rugby had first started in the Rugby School which was situated in Rugby, Warwickshire, England and it was in the Rugby School in 1877 that the first set of rules of Rugby were written.

Rugby had spread to other English Public Schools in England by the 19th century and was too adopted by the British Empire as the former players preached about it which helped it gain popularity.

Rugby turned into a professional sport after approximately 100 years when the first ever Rugby World Cup was held in 1995 in South Africa. Since then, a lot of teams have been quite successful at the game and today we will find out about the Most Successful Rugby Teams in the world.

Read more about Most Men of the Match in Cricket

South African National Rugby Team

The South African National Rugby Union team is the official team of South Africa which is governed by the South African Rugby Union and they are commonly known as the Springboks.

They are the most successful Rugby team internationally and one of the most dominant forces in international rugby who hold the number one position with the highest rating in world rankings at present.

The South African team has been playing the world cup since its inauguration in 1995 as the country hosted the first ever rugby World Cup and they were an instrumental part in creating the rugby World Cup. They have reached the top 8 in all the world cup editions since 1995 and have won the tournament four times in 1995, 2007, 2019 and 2023 and are the only second team after New Zealand to have won the rugby World Cup for consecutive time. Each time they have reached the finals, they have won the tournament.

New Zealand National Rugby Team

The New Zealand National rugby Union team is the official team of New Zealand who are commonly called the All Blacks and frequently considered as one of the most successful teams internationally and is the National Sport of New Zealand. The All Blacks are one of the best rugby Union teams internationally and are at present rank 2 in world rankings of rugby Union.

New Zealand has been playing since the very first Rugby World Cup and has had 10 appearances in the top 8 and has won the rugby world cup for three times in the years 1987, 2011, and 2015, and was the first team in history to win it twice.

They have also been the runners-up team in 1995 and 2023 and have received the bronze medal in 1991, 2019, and 2003. 

Australian National Rugby team

The Australian National Rugby team is the rugby Union team of Australia who are considered as a consistent team in international rugby and they were one of the first ever teams to play the sport in 1899 and one day first ever match against the British Isles at Sydney.

Australia has competed in all nine Rugby World Cups, winning the final on two occasions and also finishing as runner-up twice. Australia beat England at Twickenham in the final of the 1991 Rugby World Cup and won again in 1999 at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff when their opponents in the final were France.

Australia also plays the annual rugby Championship which is a tournament between Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, and Argentina, and has won the Championship on 4 occasions. They are also one of the very rare test playing Nations against the other rugby teams.

England National Rugby Team

The Guardian

The England National Rugby team is the official Rugby Union team of England who are one of the most successful teams in the sport.

They also compete in the Six Nations Annual Championship along with Italy, France, Wales, Ireland, and Scotland and have won the championship for a record 29 times. They have also won the Grand Slam title in the tournament for 14 times and have won the Triple Crown for 26 times.

They are currently the only team from the Northern Hemisphere of the world to win the Rugby World Cup after they won the tournament in 2003 and have been runners-up three times in the tournament in 1991, 2007, and 2019.

France National Rugby Team

The France National Rugby team is the official rugby Union team of the French rugby federation and France. They are also well recognized for competing in the Six Nations Annual Championship along with England, Italy, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. They have won the tournament for 26 times and have held the Grand Slam title for 10 times.

Rugby was introduced in France by the British in 1872 after which the country formed its first ever national team in 1893. France has a really dominant Rugby team but have ended up on the losing side in the finals for 3 times in 1987, 1999 and 2007. They have qualified for the top 8 for about 10 times and are one of the most successful teams.